Brief History

The Department of Zoology which is one of the five departments in the new Faculty of Biosciences came into being in the year 2000. Prior to this year, Zoology, Botany, Parasitology and Entomology units were under the same umbrella of Department of Biological Sciences in the Faculty of Natural Sciences. The demerging was established by the University Senate, under the chairmanship of Professor Pita Ejiofor, the Vice-Chancellor of the University, in September 2000. The first and second academic year students were admitted for the undergraduate programme in 2001/2002 academic years.
The Department of Zoology covers Fisheries and Aquaculture, Animal Physiology, Entomology, Ecology and Parasitology. The Department of Zoology degree programme seeks to produce professionals technically equipped for leadership positions in national development. In the Department, students specialize in general zoology with respect to the skills for research which they acquire. These skills lead into new products, processes and services. The students are equally encouraged to undertake essential management and entrepreneurial skills which may translate basic science and engineering knowledge into beneficial products, for humans.